Follow by Email

Thursday, 15 September 2016

Author Q&A with Tilly Tennant


It’s time to get toasty by the fire with a glass of mulled wine and a slice of chocolate yule log sprinkled with a little romance. Welcome to Christmas at the Little Village Bakery. 

Snow is falling in Honeybourne and Spencer is bringing home his American fiancée Tori for a traditional English Christmas with all the trimmings. But when his hippie mum and dad meet her high-maintenance parents, sparks of the wrong sort start to fly. Then Spencer bumps into his first love Jasmine and unexpected feelings come flooding back. 

Millie is run off her feet with Christmas orders at the Little Village Bakery and new baby Oscar. Thank goodness her cousin Darcie is here to help her. Although she does seem to be rather flirty with Millie’s boyfriend Dylan. 

Will Darcie ever find true love of her own? And is marrying Tori a terrible mistake for Spencer if his heart is with someone else? 

A heartwarming Christmassy romantic comedy, perfect for fans of Carole Matthews and Milly Johnson.


Title:        Christmas at the Little Village Bakery
Author:    Tilly Tenant
Published By: Bookouture
Date:        Sept 16th 2016
Link:        UK: Amazon   US: Amazon

Author Q&A with Tilly Tennant

Today we would like to welcome the delightful Tilly Tennant to the blog to talk to us about writing and her new book Christmas at the Little Village Bakery.

What was the inspiration behind this novel?
Christmas at the Little Village Bakery is the second in a series and really came about because I wasn’t quite ready to say goodbye to the characters of The Little Village Bakery. So this story takes place a few months on from the end of that book, and we get the chance to catch up and see where life has taken them.
Did you always want to be a writer?
I’d always dabbled, but never written anything seriously – mainly because I couldn’t imagine why anyone would care what I had to say. Then, ten years ago, I decided I’d had enough of feeling unfulfilled in jobs that I didn’t particularly enjoy, and I enrolled on a university course to study English. While I was there I filled a gap in the timetable with a creative writing module, wrote my first novel in the summer holidays, and instantly became addicted.
What other jobs have you had?
I’ve lost count of all the other jobs I’ve had! I’ve never been able to settle in one because in my heart I knew they weren’t what I wanted to do. I’ve done everything from waitressing, shop work, pottery painting, newspaper advertising, promotions, reception work and secretarial. There are probably loads more that I’ve forgotten!  
How did it feel when your first novel was published?
A bit surreal, if I’m honest. Five years on and I still have to pinch myself daily to make sure I’m not dreaming this wonderful job I get to do.
Have you ever had writer’s block? If so how did you overcome it?
I’ve never had it yet. In fact, the opposite happens and when I’m meant to be concentrating on a current project I find it very difficult to shut out ideas for the next.
What motivates you to keep writing?
It’s a boring reply but I love it so much I can’t imagine ever stopping. It helps that I get fantastic support and encouragement from readers, and that the bookish community is full of lovely people.
Do your characters’ moods ever affect your mood and vice versa?
Definitely! I often find myself crying or laughing at one of them. It’s a very strange thing to be moved in that way by something you’ve created, even stranger to be surprised by it when you ought to know what’s coming!
What three pieces of advice would you give to an aspiring writer?
Develop a very thick skin, learn patience (because you will do a lot of waiting around on submissions), and make friends where you can because somewhere along the line you’re going to need them.
Which authors inspire you?
These questions are always difficult because the list is truly huge. I’m going to choose three purely on aspects of their writing, which are Neill Gaiman, who is endlessly inventive, Erin Morgenstern, for her gorgeous use of language, and Lee Childs, just because he’s so freakishly productive!
What are you reading at the moment?
See How They Run by Tom Bale.
If your book was made into a film what song would you choose for the opening credits?
Fairy Tale of New York by the Pogues, because it’s in the book!
Who would you choose to play your favourite character in the film of your book?
I’d like to see Kate Winslet play Jasmine because I think she could pull of masses of pink hair!
What is your next book about?
It’s about a holiday to Rome…. Sorry, but that’s all you can have just yet because that’s all I know!
And now to think about the books you’ve read and just give the first one that comes into your head for our quickfire ‘Which book round.’
Which book has made you:

Laugh out loud?
An Utterly Impartial History of Britain by John O’Farrell

Cry your heart out?
A Fault in Our Stars by John Green

Want to read it again?
The Book of Lost Things by John Connolly

Think more?
The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

Wish it would be made into a film?
The Night Circus!

Shocked?
The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas by John Boyne

Scared?
Any book by Stephen King

THANK YOU FOR HOSTING ME! J
Thank you for joining us Tilly it's been a pleasure. Good Luck with the book. 

Sincerely
Book Angel x

About the Author



From a young age, Tilly Tennant was convinced that she was destined for the stage. Once she realised she wasn’t actually very good at anything that would put her on the stage, she started to write stories instead. There were lots of terrible ones, likeThe Pet Rescue Gang (aged eight), which definitely should not see the light of day ever again. Thankfully, her debut novel,Hopelessly Devoted to Holden Finn was not one of those, and since it hit the Amazon best seller lists she hasn’t looked back. Born in Dorset, she currently lives in Staffordshire with her husband, two daughters, three guitars, four ukuleles, two violins and a kazoo.

www.tillytennant.com

No comments:

Post a Comment